Show reviews that mention
service warranty home claim contractor customer problem customer service home warranty repair
Filter review
Most helpful review
New Reviewer
First American Home Warranty - Horrible company
First American Home Warranty - Horrible company
First American Home Warranty - Horrible company
First American Home Warranty - Horrible company
First American Home Warranty - Horrible company
First American Home Warranty - Horrible company
p.s. my twitter handle is @mmanire I'm happy to discuss their horrible business practices with others on Twitter. Original review posted by user 22 hours ago Kept declining/refusing coverage for a/c that we pay extra for. We pay extra for coverage for our a/c. Back in...
View full review
View full review
13 comments
#2005101

every time I am on the phone with them its over an hour with the same runaround speech from different "managers". I went 2 months without a dryer while they were "looking for parts".

Finally I was told they couldn't find the parts and would reimburse me for the dryer. I went out and bought a comparable dryer that day. 1 week later parts show up at my door and no reimbursement processed. WHAT???!!

I want reimbursed.

How do we file a class action lawsuit? Anyone familiar?

View more comments
ID
#1650935 Review #1650935 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
First American Home Warranty Air Conditioner Warranty
Cons
  • Companies they use are not high quality
  • Customer service and warranty
  • Did not honor warranty
Reason of review
Warranty issue
Loss
$3125
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
Update by user Jun 19, 2021

I have requested a new refrigerator replacement since all repairs failed. FAHW keeps saying 'we have to have a contractor diagnosis to repair or replace.

5 or 6 different contractors were scheduled.

Some were 'no-shows. 2 repairs were made for the same part which...

View full review
View full review
ID
#2621484 Review #2621484 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
First American Home Warranty Warranty
Pros
  • First couple months things were great
Cons
  • Unable to receive adequate resolution to issue at hand
  • Scripted responses
  • Do not provide service or repairs as promised
Loss
$500
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
New Reviewer
I put in my claim to First American Home Warranty for my home A/C repair on April 16th, 2021. I am presently now at 60 days without my A/C being fixed. I live in one of the hottest spots in the country South Florida. I have never encountered such poor service in my...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2614533 Review #2614533 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Seem to handle the small claims reasonably
Cons
  • Ac units repair is like pulling teeth - wait 3-5 days for tech
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
New Reviewer

No response to problem

I have first American home warranty and I had a hot water heater failure! I call them and 7:00 am ! They told me because it was an emergency they would have someone there in 24 hours but 2 full days later I was still waiting, so I called back they seamed surprised that no one had contacted me! About 15 minutes later a contractor called me! He asked for my address and i gave it to him and he said thats sixty miles away, I will not travel that distance on what they pay me! So I call first American back and told them what their contractor said Im sorry we are doing the best we can. Im still waiting!!

User's recommendation: Stay away, please do not give them any money!!

View full review
ID
#2588088 Review #2588088 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$1308
Preferred solution
Money for warranty purchase and $75.00 or $1308.00 for the new hot water heater and installation!

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Horrible home warranty service I’ve ever dealt with. They do not cover what is listed in their home warranty

It took 6 months to have my fridge fixed and 23 months for my microwave to still not be fixed, which is still broken. First American home warranty is refusing to order the part again, since it has broke each time they had somebody replace it. Now they are saying the item is no longer covered, but gladly took my money to have a technician come out. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!! Horrible service!!

User's recommendation: Stay Away!!!

View full review
ID
#2572902 Review #2572902 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Carlsbad, California

Poor response by First American

First off they never called back, it was always up to me to call them, or email them and be on hold and wait, and wait, and wait .. I received a payout that was $250 short of what I had to pay because they couldn't get the product. There is no such thing as its their fault or their problem .. A vast majority of their reviews are consistent with what I've said here

User's recommendation: No recommendation but I will never renew a contract with them.

View full review
ID
#2562238 Review #2562238 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
First American Home Warranty Dishwasher Warranty
Cons
  • What they say and what they do are drastically different
Loss
$250
Preferred solution
No, there is no solution at this point .. I know everything about them I need to know

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Can't get my claim resolved

Update by user May 13, 2021

There are no updates because they won't return my calls or emails .. but I'm sure they will respond to this review with "we're working on this and it will be resolved soon", and then I won't hear from them again.

Update by user May 13, 2021

Everyday I call and email .. nobody with First American Home Warrenty can help because only my contact person can do that.

The same person who won't return my calls or emails .. so I paid $592 for this warrenty and it's worthless.

Original review posted by user May 13, 2021
I placed this claim 3/15/2021 . its now 5/13/2021 and still waiting for a dishwasher. the one they have chosen won't fit in the opening I have and it would over amp my system. Their response is "we do apologize". I've tried to reach my "contact person" and they won't return my calls, or emails, I'm told only contact person can help me. Terrible Company!!

User's recommendation: Don't get started with these people they can't be reached and your will be wasting your money.

View full review
ID
#2549941 Review #2549941 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Everything they say in the sales pitch is a verison of the truth
Loss
$200
Preferred solution
They said they would give me $428.10 instead of unit .. I've left messages stating I want to do that and just be done, but they won't return my calls or emails.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Treated Like a Criminal

Request # 31046****. 1stAM didn't have a contractor for the pool-we were approved to use Alpine Pool. We uploaded the receipt, I was told to email service request doc to dyost@***.com-he would upload it/I should receive my check within 10 days-I didn't I called today and was told I needed a License # for contractor? I needed diagrams for a salt cell that was tested and it came up as FAILED. Treated like criminals

User's recommendation: NO WAY-10 different cust service 10 different answers endless on hold.

View full review
ID
#2538721 Review #2538721 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
First American Home Warranty Claim
Cons
  • Customer service
  • Fact that there was terrible communication
  • Poor customer service and lack of follow through
Preferred solution
Apology
New Reviewer
I have had First American Home Warranty policies on my residence as well as several rental properties for the past 10 years. I was always very satisfied with their timely technician service as well as repair follow through until this last experience. My oven went out....
View full review
View full review
ID
#2510901 Review #2510901 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
First American Home Warranty Warranty
Pros
  • Sometimes they have sent out repairmen in a timely manner
Cons
  • Unprofessional follow through on claims
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Called for service on dishwasher on 4/7/21 as of 4/15/21, No service!

Placed a call to Am. Home Warranty on 4/7/21 for service on dishwasher not draining. Assigned a vendor, Tinker Appliance Repair. Vendor never called, after two days I called him. He was very nonchalant. He said they were very busy. He gave me a date Tue. (13th); no show, no call. Received call from AM Home Warranty this morning (4/15/21) at 8:40 AM saying to expect a call from Tinker No call.

User's recommendation: I would not recommend AM Home Warranty to future customers.mers.

View full review
ID
#2505134 Review #2505134 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Upper Marlboro, Maryland

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Terrible Company

I have two warranties with them, two homes. They are unresponsive. They take months to do anything and I have ended up paying their service fee, then coming out of pocket for the repair because they either misdiagnose the problem or just never show up to fix it. I paid $6,000 to replace my central AC after waiting over 3 months and paying their technician twice. I waited 9+ months for them to send 5 people, then finally replace my dishwasher. I am going on month number 6 with a broken washing machine. I am trying to cancel the policies, but even that seems to be a problem for them.

User's recommendation: Steer Clear!

View full review
ID
#2476370 Review #2476370 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Misery
Loss
$6000
Preferred solution
Full refund

Terrible Experience

I never believed I could experience such terrible and unprofessional service from a (so called) reputable company. The entire time, I was dismissed with fake, polite phone presence, but lack of honest assistance. They sent technicians to my home who reportedly lied about what my appliance needs were. They also kept me on hold for 30 minutes or more at a time. This finally resulted in denial of a cash-out payment for a new oil heater which worked prior to my calling them, but began showing signs of malfunctioning (which was my initial reason for the call). There were lies told by this company and the technicians the entire time. Extremely disappointed. I will not refer this company or the other companies associated with them to anyone in search for a positive, honest and helpful experience.
View full review
ID
#2462198 Review #2462198 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Do not deal with this company my a worker came to my home took my dryer apart 2 weeks ago still haven't return called them said the will be here waited no show no call no nothing waste of time

Do NOT DEAL WITH THIS COMPANY WORKERS NEVER COME OUT SCHDULE APPTS TOOK MY DRYER APART TWO WEEKS AGO AND STILL NO SHOW. FIRST AMERICAN STILL DONT HAVE ANY ANSWERS FOR ME YET.
View full review
ID
#2460427 Review #2460427 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$75
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
I have had two experiences with them lately, the first was with my Kenmore Dishwasher, back in Feb. 2020, which had to be replaced, and the company offered about 1/3 of what it cost to replace it. After threating to cancel our policy, they gave us about 1/2 of what it...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2454244 Review #2454244 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$1
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

I recently cancell a service and the $ 75 has NOt been refunded

I requested a service and Company called that service will be provided at least 10 days later., thnus I cancelled service. Money has not been refunded

User's recommendation: I do not want to RENEW the colntract. This is more difficult than dealing directly with repair compsnies.

View full review
ID
#2451224 Review #2451224 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$75
Preferred solution
Please DO NOT renew Thwe contract. Do Not Charge the credit card, also refunf 75 d , this service was cancelled

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
Absolutely HORRIBLE Service...I am on my 9TH service call for the same issue since September/October and 5 service contractors!!!!!! I am being told they (FAHW) are sending a second...third...fourth opinion...now on 5th and this is after a couple of the contractors...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2444281 Review #2444281 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
First American Home Warranty Warranty
Pros
  • Sales pitch
Cons
  • Disrespectful of your time and concerns
  • Horrible customer service
  • No replacements and endless service calls
Preferred solution
Replacement of Washer after 9 Service Calls Ordered and My Time Totally Disrespected!

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article